Fellows of the Meteoritical Society are members who have distinguished themselves in meteoritics or allied sciences. At present, 1% of the membership may be elected as new Fellows by the Council each even-numbered year. However, in the past, there were few limits on the numbers of new fellows elected each year (see excerpt from Marvin (1993) at the end of this page).

Below is a list of all known fellows of the Meteoritical Society, living and dead. The list was originally compiled by Roy S. Clarke, Jr. (Smithsonian Institution) for Fellows elected through the year 2000. Clarke's list has been corrected and updated by Jeff Grossman (US Geological Survey; Secretary 2005-2010) through 2008 August. Corrections may be sent to the Secretary.

The year given is the known or best-estimated date of election as Fellow. In most
cases, the institution is taken from the original citation or membership records at the time of election. Abbreviations used in the references column are given after the table.

List of Fellows (updated in 2016)

Excerpt concerning fellows from Marvin (1993) The Meteoritical Society: 1933-1993, Meteoritics 28, 261-314. 

'The original Constitution stipulated that only Fellows of the Society were eligible to serve as officers or councilors. Thus, that title conferred both honor and power; it also tended to limit the governance of the Society to a small group. The eight original members of the Council had been elected as Fellows in 1933. Additional Fellows, in rather large numbers, were elected in subsequent years. After the election of 1966, the new Council found that the Society had 216 members of whom 116 (54%) were Fellows. Three more Fellows ... were elected in 1967. However, in anticipation of the 1972 elections, the Council decided to enfranchise all members who were active in meteorite research. To that end they elected 50 Fellows in 1968 and 47 more in 1970, including every member who held a Ph.D. degree. The intended purpose was well-served, but the proportion of fellows came to exceed 63%. Clearly, Fellowship in the Society no longer signified a special honor. In 1969, the Council directed that asterisks designating Fellows be removed from the membership list, partly because the proportion was embarrassingly high, and partly because, in the headlong rush, certain members who occupied the outer fringes of science had been elected as Fellows of The Meteoritical Society.

'A strong sentiment for abolishing the category of Fellows arose during the planning stages for constitutional reform. If the title conferred neither honor nor privilege, it seemed to serve no obvious purpose at all. After exhaustive discussions, pro and con, the Council decided to retain the title but to establish it as an honor by limiting the election of new fellows to 1% of the membership every second year. As the Society grew larger the proportion of Fellows would decrease. Over the years, this stratagem has worked successfully. By 1984, the Society had 174 Fellows, a fairly respectable 25%, in a total membership of 700. That year, Meteoritics published a list of Fellows for the first time in 12 years. Today, the Society has about 905 members of whom 20% are Fellows. Publication of the membership list, with Fellows clearly designated, is planned for 1994.'

Updated December 2011: at the end of the 2011 membership year, there were ~1020 members, 15% of whom were fellows.