Recent topics >> Article details


2016 McKay and Wiley Award Recipients

| by:Webmaster
The Gordon A. McKay Award

 The McKay award honors the memory of Gordon A. McKay. The award is given each year to the student who gives the best oral presentation at the annual meeting of the Society. This year’s award is given to Danielle N. Simkus (University of Alberta) for her presentation "Compound-specific carbon isotope compositions of aldehydes and ketones in the Tagish Lake meteorite".

The Wiley Award

Sponsored by the publisher of Meteoritics and Planetary Science, four Wiley Awards are given each year for outstanding oral presentations by students at the Annual Meeting. This year’s awardees are Kelly. E. Miller (University of Arizona) for the presentation "Copper sulfides in the R chondrites: evidence of hydrothermal alteration in low petrologic types", Sheryl Singerling (University of New Mexico) for the presentation "Synchrotron x-ray fluorescence analysis of trace elements in focused ion beam prepared sections of carbonaceous chondrite iron sulfides (CM and CR) and associated metal (CR)", Timo Hopp (University of Münster) for the presentation "Ruthenium isotope fractionation during crystallization of planetesimal cores" and Gavin G. Kenny (Trinity College, Dublin) for the presentation "Impact crater environments as potential sources of Hadean detrital zircons".

Wiley Award recipients (from left) Kelly. E. Miller, Sheryl Singerling, Timo Hopp and Gavin G. Kenny

15:12 | News